Tales of Blacc

The Designer

Tales of Blacc

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

"Creativity" is a strong word and every designer needs to adopt but then I always wondered how far you can go without "passion".

Growing up I wanted to try so many things I loved, technically, I tried all. I'm a science student who targeted being an engineer but I've always had this special spot in me for art and it kept burning so deep, so I said to myself, what's stopping you?

In 2015 I left high school and immediately decided to improve my computer skills where I was taught the basics of graphic design, I call it the basics for a reason. Back then everybody was designing a flyer, an invitation card, a poster...I wanted something entirely different from the regular things I saw. I literally drew inspiration from everything. What if you design your feelings, what if you recreated your emotions and brought them to life, what if?

Having basic knowledge, I knew there was a lot of work to be done, so I started studying and learning from YouTube, while at it I was practising and I felt like a pro, hahaha, I got my first pc, it wasn't the best but I did my designs with it regardless, I was so happy because I was doing a different design from what was around me, I did cover arts, mixtape, manipulations...I always designed them in my head first! I went on to create an IG page where I put out all my designs. I did it because I love creating stuff.

What kept me going? Critics did it for me. My brothers kept wanting me to do more and they kept saying it's beautiful "but", there was always a " but" somewhere...the criticism kept coming from them and one day one of them told me "If I don't say 'but', you will stop pushing hard, you will be comfortable" that motivated me even if it was just for fun.

Limitations? I didn't have a good PC and a camera, these were the only limitations I had at the time but there was no way I was going to let it stop me i capitalized on what was available at the time, and there was no going back, nahhhhh...